Fake Friends is an alternative way to join other players. This brand-new feature will trick the game into thinking that a certain player is a Social Club friend.
Players that you add as fake friends may be displayed in your Friends list, allowing you to join them from the Pause menu. The game will treat them as actual friends when they are in your lobby as well. However, they are not actually added to your Social Club friends list; they will not see you as a friend, nor will you see them in the Social Club website.
You may also display the Social Club profile of a fake friend to look up for their information right away.
Adding a Fake Friend#
- If the player is in your lobby, use the Add as Fake Friend feature. Otherwise, go to Online Tab → Fake Friends → Add fake friend and type the player's SCID. You may rename or delete fake friends from within 2Take1.
- If you are a VIP user, you can join fake friends from within 2Take1. Locate the fake friend and move left/right until you see Join, then select it.
Fake Friend Options#
The following settings are generally available for the Fake Friends feature. Only fake friends with the corresponding flags enabled will be affected by these settings (more information below).
- Enable Stalker – Receive notifications when a fake friend goes online or offline.
- Add Fake Friends To Friends List – Display fake friends in your Friends list, allowing you to join them as if they were actual friends. If the fake friend does not have a name, they will show up by their SCID instead.
- Show Hidden – Display fake friends that are hidden, allowing you to manage or join them.
Fake Friend Management#
Fake Friends will be displayed in Online Tab → Fake Friends. You can search for fake friends by their name or SCID; in case of conflict, the SCID will be prioritized.
When you hover the cursor over a fake friend, 2Take1 will display a window with their name and SCID, and whether they are in a session. You will also see the following flags:
- Stalk – You will receive notifications when a fake friend goes online or offline, if the corresponding setting is enabled.
- Friend List – This fake friend will be added to your game's Friends LIst, if the corresponding setting is enabled.
- Hide – This fake friend will be hidden, if the corresponding setting is enabled.
- Join Timeout – This fake friend will be unable to join your lobby, if the FakeFriends Blacklist feature is enabled and configued.
You can change the name and SCID of any fake friend, as well as toggle the flags above. You can also use a fake friend's SCID for the Join Redirect feature, or display their Social Club page right away.
Fake Friends will be saved into the
scid.cfg file; you may also manage your fake friends from there.